Home | Contact Us



Membership in the Louisiana Senate (1880 - Present)

This document contains a  chronological listing by term, name, and political party, from 1880 to Present, of the following Senate offices:

(1) President of the Senate
(2) Secretary of the Senate
(3) Senator by parish listed in alphabetical order.



Senate Rules of Order

Each body of the Louisiana Legislature has the authority to determine the rules of its proceedings (unless restricted by the constitution or other authority).  The Senate Rules govern physical facilities, oath of office, officers, employees, members and quorum, decorum and debate . . . View the Rules of Order for more information.


State Constitution of 1974

The constitution provides the structure and principles in which the government operates, including - but not limited to - the preamble, declaration of rights, distribution of powers, revenue and finance, elections, and constitutional revision. Compiled from the Louisiana Senate Statutory Database, the Louisiana State Constitution of 1974 including proposed amendments adopted in the 2014 Regular Session and approved by the electors.




Questions and comments may be directed to websen@legis.la.gov
Baton Rouge, Louisiana.